Big Apple from an Apartment Window


I’ve been to New York City. I’ve never had the time to see everything I wanted to see. I visited the Guggenheim and was moved by Picasso’s Woman Ironing and Anish Kapoor’s Memory. I’ve driven to the Man Ray exhibit at the Jewish Museum on 5th Avenue. I’ve walked through Madison Square Park and Bryant Park. I’ve seen Hedda Gabler on Broadway. Of all of the wonderful things that I have seen and done, I have a feeling that I won’t be doing much exploring on this trip.

The apartment that I’m inhabiting for the three weeks that I’m here looks out at the corner of Broadway and 34th Street. I have watched the entrance of Macy’s almost every year on the TV for the Thanksgiving Parade. Now, my living room window has become my television, looking right out onto Macy’s and the pedestrian walkway. My room has become my looking glass, and New York is just a glance in the right direction.

There is constant talking, constant sirens and constant movement. Today was a rainy, blustery, cold day so the movement was dampened a little, but the city barely flinches at rain. My roommate Cat made us an amazing dinner of Italian garlic chicken, macaroni and cheese and broccoli. Let me tell you, after a long day of reporting, walking and editing, that was one of the best dorm meals ever, bar none.

Today was the first day that we’ve really gotten to see the city. The program is set up in such a way that tourism is rare. Reporting gets us places, but for the most part we’re here to learn and listen, but not to touch. I don’t mind being distanced from it all. Today made up for any feeling of overwhelming stress. Today, we had some looking time.

Clayton Sizemore of CNN was our instructor today. He’ll be returning at the end of the month to solidify another article idea with us, but today was his introduction to our cameras and video editing. For this assignment, we headed over to Central Park to find a two-minute story to practice putting together using five main types of shot, narration, interview and soundbite. Because the rain was rather miserable, he allowed us to do our stories inside the Time Warner Mall. Not too much later, we found out that we weren’t allowed to film inside the mall, but journalists need to be more tenacious than that. Let’s just say that while I wasn’t happy with my final result of the exercise, I was crafty.

After our near-criminal attempts at shooting stories, we all had some sort of product to work with. From there, we met up with Mr. Sizemore in the lobby of the Time Warner building on Columbus Circle. We received guest passes and took an elevator up into the heart of CNN New York. We got a personalized tour of most of the facility, including newsroom, studios, production and planning. We also ran into Wolf Blitzer and got to watch some of the pre-production and live promos for Showbiz Tonight. It was one of the best experiences I’ve ever had in terms of big media, and hopefully I’ll have a few more while I still have the chance. Fox News? Perhaps?

As for this evening, we’re all trying our best to finish up the many articles and homework assignments due tomorrow. There’s so much to do and not much time to do it. That’s what makes this entire experience as thrilling and worthwhile as it already is on the second day. Two days in and already we’ve made so much progress… That’s saying something.

Tomorrow will be our first day with Russel Pulliam, so I need to finish this up and get to my work. I look forward to every experience ahead and I’ll be sure to write all about it!

Be bold, seek the truth – always.

-H-
We look like professionals!

About SisyphusFalls

I have been writing ever since I could read, and before that simply using my imagination. I write, think and love deeply.

Posted on May 19, 2010, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Great summary, and I hope you DO get to touch a little.

  2. Great writing! I look forward to reading every word of your blogs. I am glad that you are so jazzed about the program so far. It sounds like it will be profitable in many ways.

    Love,
    Mom

Leave a Reply

