Oh, the Blessed Irony!


The irony in the gym was so thick, you could have sawed it off with a knife and spread it thickly on freshly-browned toast. With jelly. Chew on that (no pun intended).

I, who have survived my last three years of high school without almost ANY Spirit gear, school t-shirts or Comet Crazy tailgate parties, who has ranted against her class and sat at pep rallies laughing at the cheerleaders and spirit boys…..

I, who solmenly swear that I am up to no good (ha ha) decided that this week of homecoming, I would take advantage of the silliness and actually dress according to the Spirit Week calendar.

And I actually won for Most Spirited.

Walking obliviously throughout my day embracing my Harry Potter pride, I thought nothing of it. I was in it for the fun. Instead, I walk home with a five-dollar certificate to Mitchell’s Ice Cream.

Is that not the best living example of irony ever???

Needless to say, I heard my name called and didn’t know what for. I am invisible to the world! I try and avoid standing out amongst my peers, lest I be trampled like a rabid chicken weaving aimlessly around the henhouse. Yet there I was, being nudged by Marissa to step in front of the entire student population to embrace this award bestowed upon me. Hah…

All I have to say to that, despite how evil it may seem….

LAUGH AT ME AGAIN, FOOLS!
I knew it was worth the cape. It paid off.

And you, you who scorned and ridiculed me for my ridiculous sense of fashion in the spirit of it all… how do you feel, now that without saying a word I was picked out and recognized?

Life is so sweet… but that ice cream will be sweeter.

So yes, to the masses: It just goes to show that you can rage against the machine, and it may just earn you some free ice cream.

Mischief Managed. I’m out.

2008! BEAT BRUNSWICK!

Pure Genius.

About SisyphusFalls

I have been writing ever since I could read, and before that simply using my imagination. I write, think and love deeply.

Posted on October 5, 2007, in Irony and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. rofl!
    brava dahling, brava!
    enjoy that ice cream! lol

Leave a Reply

